American Dust

A random blog that features things like soccer, politics, personal financial advise, and sometimes comics.

Obama steals from Romney?

Posted by americandust on March 19, 2008

  After watching the Obama speech (or the “best of” clips) on CNN, I was struck with a sense of familiarity with the speech. The commentators just gushed over how Presidential Obama was.  They even said it looked just like a State of the Union address. This struck me as odd as Obama stood on a stage flanked by flags and the State of the Union address has the president standing in front of a large wooden podium with the Vice President and Speaker of the House behind him (instead of Obama’s dark blue background) with ONE large flag behind him.  But it did look familiar.  It looked JUST like the background for Mitt Romney’s major speech on Religion. A speech he too, did not want to give.  Look at Romney and then look at Obama.  There are some SUBTLE differences, namely that Obama used a brighter blue background (oh and you should note that you can’t see the flag on Romney’s right for the first half of the speech as CNN covered it with “fun facts” and damning quotes about Mormonism–but at the end of the speech you see him surrounded by flags).  Don’t think this is coinicidence, on CNN last night they even laughed about how the press had to wait outside the hall as Obama’s handlers tried out different combinations of flags before deciding to use 8 instead of 6.

  But the look isn’t the big similarity.  Let’s look at some other things…

Both harken back to the founding fathers and their meeting in Philadelphia to declare independence and escape tyranny (although let’s admit this is a common politician’s tactic to call upon them).

Both discuss their choice to run for the presidency, with Romney specifically saying he wanted to address “how my own faith would inform my Presidency…” and Obama telling us his “American Story” and how that “has seared into my genetic makeup.”

This is not plagerism in any form.  However, they both have sought the same tone.  We’re told time and time again that Obama wrote this speech himself.  It is my belief he started by reading Romney’s speech and used that as a blue-print. 

Let’s get to the better stuff…

Romney: “There are some for whom these commitments are not enough.  They would prefer it if I would simply distance myself from my religion, say that it is more a tradition than my personal conviction, or disavow one or another of its precepts.  That I will not do… Some believe that such a confession of my faith will sink my candidacy.  If they are right, so be it.  But I think they underestimate the American people.”

Obama: “there will no doubt be those for whom my statements of condemnation are not enough… “I can no more disown him than I can disown the black community… These people are a part of me.”  “We can accept a politics that breed division, and conflict, and cynicism….Or, at this moment… we can come together…”

To summarize the tone of both speeches:  “I know I’m different, but we have shared beliefs.  I know my association with a differnet kind of religion and/or race then you have could be a reason for you to not vote for me.  But I believe you can overcome that petty stuff.

 Oh… and let’s take a look at how each man reveals how they look at the most important male role model in their lives…

OBAMA on Wright: “is a man who helped introduce me to my Christian faith, a man who spoke to me about our obligations to love one another’ to care for the  sick and lift up the poor…. by housing the homeless, ministering to the needy, providing day care services and scholarships…

Romney on his Father:  “I was taught in my home to honor God and love my neighbor.  I saw my father march with Martin Luther King.  I saw my parents provide compassionate care to others, in personal ways to people nearby, and in just as consequetial ways in leading national volunteer movements.”

Leave a Reply

 
